As soon as you open a document, it’s marked as dirty.
This is very disconcerting. I wanted to close a few docs I had opened and wasn’t sure if I had intentionally made changes and forgotten to save or not.
It adds stress and a level of thinking about what I’m doing that bothers me more than you might think. I tend to edit stuff and jump out to other tasks and then come back to things, then wondering and trying to recreate my last few hours.
Will I save inadvertent damage if I say yes?
Will I lose some amazing tweak if I say no?